July 23, 2008

Miner Mishap

Since Iím in Oklahoma Iím going out of my way to find beers that are brewed either here in the OK or ones in the surrounding states (Texas, Arkansas, Kansas) that I canít find at home. It took me four stops in two days to find one, and then I ended up having to ask a local that Iím training in order to find a place that sold something other than big brands. Finally I found a pretty good store that had a decent selection. Tonight Iím going to be reviewing Miner Mishap by the Choc Beer Company in Krebs, Oklahoma.

Miner Mishap.jpg
Sorry for the crappy photo, I had to use my webcam on the laptop to take it.

We have our normal brown 12 oz bottle. There is a two tone picture of two miners carrying another miner between them in what appears to be a... mine. The name of the beer is in that late Eighteenth century western script. At the bottom they state this is a black lager.

There is a dark brown color to it. Light passes through it, but you canít see what is on the other side of the glass clearly. Itís dark enough that I canít tell if there is any cloudiness to it. The head was about quarter of an inch thick and consisted of tiny tan bubbles that gave it a thick and creamy appearance. It slowly faded to a thin film on the top of the beer. There is a bit of lacing on the side of the glass, but not much.

It has a nice roasted chocolate and caramel malt sent to it, just as the label describes. There is a touch of a coffee scent to it as well. You can also detect just a hint of hops. The smell is a pretty good indicator of the taste. The chocolate and roasted malts really come through. There is a slight mineral water taste to it. It finishes with a mild hoppiness. As the beer starts to warm, the hop flavors start to be more noticeable.

This is a medium bodied beer. The carbonation bites a little on the tongue.

They advertise this as schwarzbier, but it almost has more of a porter taste to it. Over all it isnít a bad beer. I found it rather pleasant to drink. I give it 6 out of 10.

Posted by Contagion in Alcohol at July 23, 2008 09:04 PM | TrackBack
Comments

I did not see any Bell's beer on your site,

www.bellsbeer.com
I am emplyee of this company and have grown very fond of our brew's you shold check it our.

Posted by: Fawn at July 23, 2008 09:14 PM

I like chocolate!! This may be a beer that I would rate a 10. If Wil is going that way, he's going to have to pick us up a 6 pack or more.

Posted by: red at July 24, 2008 08:30 AM

Sounds good!

Posted by: Richmond at July 24, 2008 12:58 PM

Re: above comment - Hmm... looks like they sell some stuff over the northern border that we don't get here - might be in need of a road trippin' beer run in the upcoming future :P

Glad you were able to find something unique - I seem to remember having trouble finding anything that was really regional while I was down there as well...

Posted by: Shadoglare at July 24, 2008 10:28 PM

I quit drinking before the microbrew craze came along but I used to be quite partial to Shiner Bock.
I kind of like never having a hangover but I do miss beer.

Posted by: Peter at July 24, 2008 10:57 PM

Shadoglare: Yea, I looked up the above suggestions, it's not available in Illinois. At this time I have an overabundance of beers to review back home, so I'm not looking to pick up any more at this time. I'm looking to get those reviewed when I return to Illinois.

Peter: Shiner Bock is pretty good, I haven't reviewed it yet. But I'm waiting to review it because it is made in Texas, and I'm trying to get some Oklahoma beers reviewed.

Posted by: Contagion at July 25, 2008 07:21 AM

Sorry to kill a topic by posting wedding dresses about it ad nauseum, but my God(!), I can't believe that wedding dress  there was a time I preferred to use Qwest - that is, until Qwest DSL started giving me some problems. After abandoning Cox for two years because of the crappy  wedding gowns service they gave me wedding gown  in three different locales, the prodigal son returns - and it is great to be back.


Apparently two years makes discount wedding dresses  all the difference. Cox has completely revamped their customer service. Sure, they have some snarky automated bitch cheap wedding dresses  when you call tech support, but - and this is a tip for all of you Googlers out there who can't find simple wedding dresses  this - if you're calling Cox tech support and want to bypass the automated system, just say informal wedding dresses  "Technician". Apparently, that's the secret word and Cox's automated doorman lets you pass through the pearly gates to,bridal gowns  surprisingly, competent tech support and dude's who really don't mind too much when you have  bridal dresses a problem.


I had to call Cox twice yesterday, and unlike the horrible time I had with Qwest, they actually fixed my problems both times. It's almost as if they know what they're doing.


And as for speed; I had bridesmaid dresses to always assumed DSL was comparable stricly because with DSL, you're not sharing your network with anyone. I was wrong. Despite what other sites may tell you, cable broadband is way faster than DSL. Clocking my mother of the bride dresses download times, it's about 400% faster with Cox than it was with my DSL. I'm not exaggerating.


Of course, I also purchased their top tier bandwidth speed; at the basic package, it may be more plus size wedding dresses comparable. However, for a web designer, 400% faster means a lot more work is done in less time. And for a guy who actively loves to stream media, holy shit.


Anyway, I'm done now. I just wanted to make sure that I wasn't a guy who only complains, but also compliments. Kudos Cox - ya won me over.

Posted by: wedding dresses at March 29, 2009 03:10 AM